Box Office
Russian National Orchestra

Wednesday, February 24, 2016 8:00PM

Russian National Orchestra
2018-19 Subscriptions available now at
2018-19 Single Tickets will go on sale in the summer.

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Mikhail Pletnev, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano

Henry T. Segerstrom Legacy Series
Sponsored by The Henry T. and Elizabeth Segerstrom Charitable Foundation

Featured artist sponsored by The Segerstrom Foundation and Shanbrom Family Foundation

Pre-concert lecture by Rich Capparela, 7pm

SHOSTAKOVICH: Festive Overture in A major, Op. 96
TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44
STRAVINSKY: Suite from The Firebird (1945)

This season, the Russian National Orchestra celebrates 25 years as one of Russia’s leading ensembles and one of the world’s top orchestras (Gramophone, 2008).

Conducted by Mikhail Pletnev, the Russian program includes Shostakovich’s Festive Overture and Stravinsky’s Suite from The Firebird (1945), as well as Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 2 in G major, Op. 44, featuring powerhouse pianist Yuja Wang in her third consecutive Philharmonic Society season.