Box Office
Yuja Wang & Leonidas Kavakos

Sunday, February 12, 2017 7:00PM

Yuja Wang & Leonidas Kavakos
Online sales closed.

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Leonidas Kavakos, violin
Yuja Wang, piano

Henry T. Segerstrom Legacy Series
Sponsored by The Henry T. and Elizabeth Segerstrom Charitable Foundation

Pre-concert lecture by Brian Lauritzen, 6pm

JANÁCEK: Sonata, JW 7/7
SCHUBERT: Fantasy in C major, D. 934
DEBUSSY: Sonata in G minor, L. 140
BARTÓK: Sonata No. 1 in C-sharp minor, Sz. 75, BB 84

Renowned for her flying fingers, pianist Yuja Wang is a vivid performer and dazzling virtuoso, amazing audiences with her controlled technique and authority over the most complex technical demands of performance repertoire.

Winner of the coveted 2014 Gramophone Artist of the Year Award, violinist Leonidas Kavakos has been praised by The New York Times for his "balance of pyrotechnics and lyricism." By age 21, Kavakos had already won three major international violin competitions: the Sibelius Competition in 1985, and the Paganini and Naumburg competitions in 1988.