Box Office
Kronos Quartet

Saturday, January 21, 2017 8:00PM

Kronos Quartet
2018-19 Subscriptions available now at
2018-19 Single Tickets will go on sale in the summer.

Musco Center for the Arts

David Harrington, violin
John Sherba, violin
Hank Dutt, viola
Sunny Yang, cello

Eclectic Orange Series sponsored by Judith and Howard Jelinek
With additional support by Bette and Wylie Aitken

Konono No°1 (arr. Jherek Bischoff): Kule Kule
Nicole Lizée: Another Living Soul*
Tanya Tagaq (arr. Jacob Garchik): Sivunittinni*
Clint Mansell (arr. David Lang): Requiem for a Dream Suite
Willie Dixon (arr. Steven Mackey): Spoonful
Terry Riley: Good Medicine from Salome Dances for Peace
Omar Souleyman (arr. Jacob Garchik): La Sidounak Sayyada (I’ll Prevent the Hunters from Hunting You)
Komitas (arr. Mary Kouyoumdjian): Groung
Mary Kouyoumdjian: Bombs of Beirut

Please Note: The performance of Bombs of Beirut includes actual recordings of the sounds of warfare, including incoming missiles and the detonation of bombs, all at high decibel levels. These are loud sounds that continue for approximately four minutes. Audience members may wish to avoid this piece if there is any history of PTSD, anxiety disorders, or other psychological or medical conditions that would likely be exacerbated by exposure to such sounds.

*Composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire, Philharmonic Society of Orange County, commissioning partners, underwritten by Donald and Karen Evarts

For more than 40 years, the Grammy Award-winning Kronos Quartet has been at the forefront of contemporary classical music, building an eclectic repertoire for string quartet through its collaborations with contemporary composers and genre-defying artists.

Referred to as “the pre-eminent contemporary music group in the world,” Kronos Quartet’s music has been featured in films such as Requiem for a Dream, The Fountain, 21 Grams, Heat, and True Stories. Kronos’ work has also garnered numerous awards, including a Grammy for Best Chamber Music Performance (2004) and “Musicians of the Year” (2003) from Musical America.