Box Office
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Monday, February 12, 2018 8:00PM

All-Beethoven<br>Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Online sales currently unavailable for this concert.

For 2017-18 subscriptions, call (949) 553-2422.

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Marin Alsop, conductor
Nicola Benedetti, violin

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60
BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61

Trailblazing conductor Marin Alsop leads the British period ensemble Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in an all-Beethoven program, including the composer’s Symphony No. 4 and his sole Violin Concerto, featuring Scottish violinist Nicola Benedetti.

Winner of Best Female Artist at both 2012 and 2013 Classical BRIT Awards, violinist Nicola Benedetti has captivated audiences and critics alike with her musicality and poise. In May 2004, at the age of 16, she won the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition. She was appointed as a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the 2013 New Year Honors, in recognition of her international music career and work with musical charities throughout the United Kingdom.

An inspiring and powerful voice in the international music scene, Marin Alsop was the first woman to head a major American orchestra. Alsop, who serves as music director of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, was Gramophone magazine’s inaugural “Artist of the Year” (2003) and was named Musical America's 2009 Conductor of the Year. She is the recipient of numerous awards and is the only conductor to receive the prestigious MacArthur Fellowship.