Box Office
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with Pinchas Zukerman

Tuesday, January 28, 2020 8:00PM

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra with Pinchas Zukerman

Single tickets for 2020/21 season currently not on sale.
2020/21 subscriptions available at

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Pinchas Zukerman, violin and conductor

Donna L. Kendall Classical Series

Pre-concert lecture by Brian Lauritzen, 7pm

TCHAIKOVSKY: Polonaise from Eugene Onegin, Op. 24
MOZART: Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major, K. 219 “Turkish”
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64

One of the world’s preeminent classical artists, Grammy Award-winning conductor and violinist Pinchas Zukerman has remained a phenomenon in the classical music world for more than four decades. Zukerman returns leading the London-based Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, an ensemble widely regarded for its exceptional quality and versatility.

Their program opens and closes with Tchaikovsky, including the rhythmic Polonaise from the opera Eugene Onegin with blazing trumpet fanfares and the composer's much heralded and beloved Fifth Symphony. Mozart’s Fifth Violin Concerto, often referred to as “The Turkish,” premiered during the holiday season of 1775. A beautifully imaginative work, this piece breaks into a Turkish-sounding section complete with delightful up and down melodic swoops and a rich six-measure Adagio.